Well class was fun last night as I was the only person there so it was a private lesson. We actually spent so much time talking that we didn't even realize the time until it was already 30 minutes into the scheduled time. We learned leave it and take it which she is rather good at as she does a similar thing with dinner. She learned quickly and Tisha kept commenting how smart she is, which she really is. I think she will be amazing at agility but I wonder if I have the stamina to run around the course with her ;)
It amazes me what she can get into and she has a knack of knowing what is my favorite food/splurge food. First it was the can of pringles which I rarely get and had gotten as a treat, she ate the remainder of the can or about half of it. Today I get home and first notice a plastic bag on the ground completely eaten. I realize it was her treat bag which I forgot on the coffee table. My fault then I turn the corner and seem my loaf of sourdough on the floor and half gone. I'm pissed! This was on the kitchen counter and some how she got into it. I've been craving this bread and the grilled cheeses it was gonna make me all week. I guess the good part is there was still 1/3 to a half left and it was salvagable. But how she got it and this knack for knowing what I'm craving is a bit crazy. I must say I got rather mad at her and talked sternly to her. I know she had no idea what she did but still I had to vent. She got locked in the bedroom for a short time.
This is really making me think I either need to keep her in my bedroom when I leave the house or worse yet a crate. I really don't want to crate her but she's not giving me much of a choice. She really enjoys laying by the sliding glass door and looking out as this is where I normally find her when I come home. I don't want to take that away from her but I don't want her to keep getting into my stuff. I mean what happens if it's another pack of gum but this time it makes her seize? I don't know perhaps I just need to clean up more and put things away.
Another thing this brings up is the fact that I wish I could be a little more like a dog. They are able to let go of thing so easily. They live in the moment and if something bad happens it's forgotten 10 minutes later. I wish I could be like that. Like 2 hours later and I'm still a bit upset with her for the bread. If it was just the treats that's one thing but something off the counters is not good. And I really wanted to enjoy that whole loaf all week long. I need to try and be like a dog and let it go. Being angry isn't going to change anything . . .
Sunday, August 3, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment